Where’s your mindset

I’m overwhelmed with the fact that there are more boys than men in this world. The sad part is, some boys are under the impression that they are “men” but in reality they are many steps away. In church, there was a series for 6 weeks talking about what it takes to be a man. I must say, although the language was generated for the ears of the opposite sex, I took away a lot of knowledge that I can use for my life. This series also helped me realize what an “ideal man” looks like. Unfortunately, we’re not living in the world of “The Notebook” or “The Great Gatsby” full of men who are like Noah and Jay. We live in a world where one woman is not enough. We live in a world where to be locked down means you’re not “living”. We live in a world where quantity is better quality.

What makes matters worse is, I can’t even blame all guys for this “boy mentality”. There are “girls” out there who help them confirm that the way they go about things is okay. We have “girls” who are okay with being the second lady. We have “girls” who has no problem showcasing themselves in ways that leaves nothing else to imagination. We have “girls” who thinks it’s cute for a “boy” to call them a “Bad Bitch”. Although we women complain about it…often, we can’t deny the fact that some of our counterparts are enabling the problem. But this does not give you “boys” the okay to stay captive of this thought process. Eventually you’ll wake up and realize that the woman who holds substance will never even think to give you the time of day because you have “boy” mentality. Are you willing to let go of a woman that can provide lasting value for a temporary desire?

So what can be done? What can women like me do? I’m truly unsure if there is anything that I can do to directly make “boys” and “girls” understand that eventually you have to grow up. You can’t stay in this adolescent mindset expecting substance in life. I will let you know this, it’s so much easier to do what everyone else is doing and justify why you are doing it. You start to find comfort in what many are doing, good or bad. I challenge you to understand, when you step outside of your safe zone, that’s when things happen for you that makes it all worth it. That quick moment of feeling unique or that feeling like you’re against the world is not bad whatsoever. Food for thought.

Leave a comment